Two custom adapter examples

Hi. Beginner here. I would like to start my learning process by running the Two custom adapter examples described here openPDC/Developers_Two_Custom_Adapter_Examples.md at master · GridProtectionAlliance/openPDC · GitHub

I managed to Install Visual Studio, implement and build the sampledatasimulator.dll and CalculatePerUnitValue.dll. I copied the files to the openPDC installation folder along with ReadWriteCSV.dll
(openPDC/ReadWriteCSV.dll at master · GridProtectionAlliance/openPDC · GitHub)

I tried to add them as custom action adapter but they were not visible. I beleive i am missing something that’s related to the database (I chose to install SQLite for now)

Could you please explain in details the steps required to load the two custom adapters from this example into openPDC to be able to run them?

Thank you so much
Chantal

Hi Chantal,

That documentation appears to be quite old. I hope that you didn’t spend too much time trying to track down copies of TimeSeriesFramework.dll, TVA.Core.dll, and TVA.PhasorProtocols.dll. Assuming that you instead substituted GSF.TimeSeries.dll, GSF.Core.dll, and GSF.PhasorProtocols.dll from your openPDC installation, you’ve done the right thing.

I mention all this because the behavior you describe of your adapters not being visible when adding a custom action adapter typically occurs when the openPDC Manager encounters an exception when loading the adapter types from your assembly. The most common issue that causes this behavior would be mismatched GSF assembly versions. However, in this particular case, I would guess that the most likely cause is probably the fact that you downloaded ReadWriteCSV.dll from the internet.