Master-Slave chain Setup

Hello,

I am trying to setup a Master Slave Setup as follows:
I have a Master Clock Device which is sending PTP sync messages to the Windows 7 PC, which receives them on Ethernet Interface 1 (ptpd.exe is then synchronizing the clock).
From here I setup another ptpd.exe process for Ethernet Interface 2 to send out PTP sync messages to a PTP-capable ethernet-camera.
So I was able to see there is synchronization happening on Windows and also on the camera, but the precission was really bad and both clocks wer lagging and jumping back and forth (seconds).

I then switched to Windows 10 PC and only synced the camera with the PC using PTPSync. This worked fine and I achieved a accuracy in µs. But I still need to include the master clock for the PC.
I tried to do it via Windows 10 PTP Service, but without success.

My question now is how do I need to setup the sync manager properly to realize the Master-Clock->Slave Win10PC eth1->Master Win10PC eth2->Slave camera chain?

Thanks in advance for your help!

So is the root of the issue that you cannot get Windows to sync with your PTP clock using the service?

Thanks!
Ritchie

Hey,

sorry if my description was unclear.
The root issue is that I don’t get 2 parallel PTP syncs running in my top down structure. (see picture)

Sync between PC and camera is working, sync between Master-Slave (red connection) not.
Is the way I am doing it the right way to create 2 processlaunchers in PTPSync Manager?

OK - thanks, yeah. I think understand. I’m not sure about having two instances of ptpd being launched (never tried that).

I think I would try starting with a single one and trying to get local Windows clock sync’ing first.

Then you can try adding -u ADDRESS option for example to rebroadcast feed to camera (assuming it supports such). Could also try the -h end-to-end mode.

You might also need to remove -g option, so do not run as slave only.