Mass Input Tags

Hello !

I’ve been using OpenHistorian for a couple months now, and I’m really impressed with what is done. I’m starting to be interested in going slightly deeper in the architecture but don’t want to break everything.

I would like to add quickly new tags Modbus TCP input devices. I already have a bit of code to create the json files, but I wonder if I can bypass that and directly modify the OpenHistorian.db configuration to :

1 - Create a new device : I saw you have a ‘Device_InsertDefault’ trigger in sqlite which seems rather simple : are there any other specific bases I need to update for the device to work ?

2 - Create new tags : Same idea : if I simply add a measurement tag with the correct DeviceId, will the server automatically create all it needs ?

Thanks in advance !

Best regards

Hello again !

I worked on a way to add devices and measurements massively to the SQLite Configuration file. I then try to either use the configuration setup utility or simply restart the service, but it seems the modbus client doesn’t detect that I added a new device. Here are a few screenshots with a device I added manually (device111) and a few devices I added with my code :

Here are the connection strings :
Device111 (which works) :
hostName=127.0.0.1; port=502; frameFormat=TCP; transport=TCP; unitID=1; pollingRate=750; interSequenceGroupPollDelay=250; sequenceCount=1; sequence0={sequenceType=Read; groupCount=1; groupType0=HR; groupStartAddress0=12300; groupPointCount0=113; derivedCount=32}

Device1 (Doesn’t work)
hostName=127.0.0.1; port=502; frameFormat=TCP; transport=TCP; unitID=1; pollingRate=750; interSequenceGroupPollDelay=250; sequenceCount=1; sequence0={sequenceType=Read; groupCount=1; groupType0=HR; groupStartAddress0=12300; groupPointCount0=113; derivedCount=32}

When I’m in the device manager page and I ‘connect’ using the button, I can see the current values and the Read/Write Number incrementing, but not on the ‘current device status’ page.