How can I export data to CSV file

Hello, I am new to openHistorian. The Data Trending Tool can export archive.d file to CSV file. Is there any tool to export .d2 to CSV file?

The web UI screen called “Trend / Export Data” that comes with the openHistorian 2.0 exports to a CSV file.

Hi Ritchie,

Thanks for your reply. Could you please guide me through how I should do the conversion? I have loaded the d2 file by using the load button in the left panel, but nothing showed up. Do I have to set up a device instance and include dbase.dat, dbase.dat2, startup.dat, scratch.dat files?

My data is about 10TB in size and will be feed in to Matlab for analysis, what would be the best way to convert to CSV file?

Thanks,
Cindy

Sorry - perhaps I am a little confused. Can you provide a little more context? I presume you already have some source data. The “.d” files are for openHistorian 1.0, the “.d2” files are for openHistorian 2.0 - which do you have?

The archive data I have are in .d format. I am thinking to convert the data to CSV files, so I can develop Matlab/ Python codes to read and analyze the data. The data size is around 10 TB. I read in one of the articles that CSV conversion is more efficient with d2 files, so the .d2 files are converted from .d files using “Archive Upgrade Utility”.

I see - that helps. So I also presume that you don’t have access to the original configuration database for the source data? If not, the only metadata for the points you have is in the “dbase.dat*” files.

Without the original source configuration and only access to the dbase files for metadata will mean that importing into openHistorian 2.0 (.d2 format) will not be so useful. As a result, you may need to use the openHistorian 1.0 tools to access the data.

If you already have the openHistorian 2.0 installed, click on the start menu and run the “Statistics Trending Tool” - this is basically the trending tool for 1.0 archives (i.e., those files that end in “.d”).