openPDC with external database

Hello,

I am working in a project team on openPDC proof of concept. I admit I am new in openPDC subject. I have two questions regarding how openPDC cooperates with external databse.

We would like to configure external database (for PoC, SQLite) with separate tables for PMU’s, based on our schema. Will openPDC send data to such external DB? Or the DB schema needs to be created according to internal openPDC database?

Second issue is whether the data sent as output stream are validated. I mean if some dataframes from PMU are incorrect are they rejected or all data as obtained are forwarded to output streams (meaning our external DB)?

I would appreciate any comments or hints on such issues.

Best,
Anna

Hello Anna,

The database created by the openPDC software is intended only for configuration data. It’s actually fairly uncommon to use this database for saving PMU data. However, the request is common enough that we developed the AdoOutputAdapter to write measurements into a relational database table. It would be possible to write these measurements back to the openPDC database or an external database. Using multiple AdoOutputAdapters, you can write data to multiple tables or databases so it would indeed be possible to set up your proof of concept.

The AdoOutputAdapter doesn’t really care about the schema of the database that writes to, but the table it’s writing to will have to be mapped to fields of the IMeasurement interface via adapter configuration. It’s designed to simply write to the table whenever it receives a new value, so I’d highly recommend at least three fields in your PMU tables for a signal identifier, a timestamp, and the value itself.

Thanks,
Stephen

Hello Stephen,

Thank you very much for your fast reply. It definitely solves my question regarding an external database.