How can I fetch/display data from the OpenPDC Console application

Hi,

I am new to open PDC and data streaming. I have installed open PDC on Linux and I want to fetch/display the actual data either on the Linux terminal or through some client application to be deployed on Edge.

I have tested the openPDC console through PMU connection Tester and have developed a C# application on Windows using .net4.8 and it uses TCP connection string to fetch the IEEEC37 formatted data through open PDC installed on Linux.
However, my C# program does not work on a Linux environment even if I change target to 5.0.

I always receive this error on Linux when I run the C# program using any target framework,

FATAL UNHANDLED EXCEPTION: System.TypeLoadException: Could not load type of field ‘GSF.StringExtensions:s_pluralizationService’ (0) due to: Could not load file or assembly 'System.Data.Entity.Design, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=… or one of its dependencies.
at GSF.PhasorProtocols.MultiProtocolFrameParser.set_ConnectionString (System.String value) [0x00007] in … :0
at DeviceToData.Program.Main (System.String[] args) …

I need the data stream that should be compatible with Linux to run on the embedded devices. Can you please help how can I fetch the data stream through the open PDC console application or any suggestion for a client application?

Would really appreciate any help.

Are you also compiling the GSF dependencies against .NET 5, or are you using the dll’s as-is within your application?

Your exception may have to do with not selecting “Mono” as a build configuration. That particular library that is producing the error is not available on Mono.

Hi Stephen,

Yes, I am using DLL’s as-is within the application. Can you please guide how to compile GSF dependencies against .Net 5.

Just for the information, I am basically a Java developer, my first time working with .Net and Linux as well.