Delayed PDC Output Stream From Archive

I am new to OpenPDC but wondered if there is a way to easily output a user definable delayed output stream of C37.118 synchrophasor data to another PDC (i.e. user definable time shifting of data)?

0 Likes

I would say the easiest way would be to create an output stream with a large lag time and turn of preemptive publishing. However, there are a few problems with this approach since the system will rely on RAM to save real-time data to the data frame buffer. First, the delayed stream won’t start right away; it has to wait for real-time data to accumulate in the buffer. This will also be a problem for restarts and configuration changes. Second, there will be hardware limitations, since you will have significantly less space in RAM than you would on your hard drive. Third, this approach could severely hurt performance of the entire system because of the way the .NET garbage collector works.

I’m guessing the first issue would be a deal-breaker for that approach. Ideally, you could set the system up to retrieve delay-stream data from the archive. However, that is typically done through temporal sessions, and temporal sessions are generally used for on-demand data streams for fixed time ranges; not for ongoing data streams like this one. Unfortunately, I don’t think it’s going to be possible with a temporal session without some changes to the source code.

Which brings me to my final suggestion, which would be custom code. Theoretically, you could design an adapter to query temporal data, buffer it, and send it into a C37.118 concentrator using source code and/or objects from GSF.TimeSeries.Transport.DataPublisher and the GSF.PhasorProtocols namespace. In answer to your original question, I wouldn’t really call this an easy solution, but it seems doable.

0 Likes